Crime and Security

101 soldiers desert army after Boko Haram’s attack in Marte and Dikwa



The fight against the Boko Haram terrorists is taking a strange dimension as 12 officers and 89 soldiers have deserted the army in the aftermath of last week’s attack on Marte and Dikwa local government areas of Borno State.

The Nigerian army declared them missing from Operation Lafiya Dole Headquarters in Maiduguri, in a signal dated March 1, 2021.

The absconding soldiers include three majors, three captains, six lieutenants, three sergeants and 89 soldiers who fled after the attacks on Marte and Dikwa.

The signal, signed by Col. A.O. Odubiyi, on behalf of the Theatre Commander of Operation Lafiya Dole, partly read;

“I am directed to connect Reference A on above subject and to respectfully forward details of additional officers and soldiers who absconded from the defensive location during the BHT attack on New Marte and Dikwa.

“You are requested to declare the named officers and soldiers’ deserters WEF 19 Feb 21. You are also requested to cause HQ NAFC to freeze their accounts and apprehend/bring them under military escort to this Headquarters if seen within your AOR.”

Media report says that the bank accounts of the affected personnel have been frozen. The order to arrest and freezing of bank accounts of the fleeing soldiers reportedly came from authorities of Operation Lafiya Dole in Borno.

Various formations of the army have been notified to immediately apprehend and deliver any of the soldiers found in their areas of responsibilities. The names of the soldiers are given below;

GY Mohammed

EP Nwangwu

US Muhammad

EG Utok

A Ibrahim

US Ibrahim

ME Ochei

EN Essien

FC Maduako

KO Adejare

S Mammada

YJ Ishaya

Muazu Yusuf

Musa Usman

Idris Garba

Chigbo John

Aminu Mohammed

Godfrey Samuel

Christopher Silas

Okoro Emeka

Meze Hillary

Zakka Peter

Onyebuchi Kennedy

Okunola Oluwasegun

Suoyefe Abiola

Mwankat Shalmak

Ekekien Peter

Daniel Emmanuel

John Monday

Yakubu Amos

Aminu Saidu

Pius Okoro

Kenebra Shedrach

Dominic Eworo

Ojo Oluwasegun

Nura Lawal

Yakubu Suleiman

Johnson Chorus

Isah Shaibu

Nasiru Hamisu

Jibrin Sa’adu

John Ukpenkune

Umar Sani

Mustapha Suleiman

Isiaq Adam

Muhammed Ahmed

John Richard

Kabiru Hashimu

Awuna Monday

Isah John

Zamani Fidelis

Abubakar Adam

Philip Chia

Ogundipe GBenga

Samson Unite

Francis Audu

Abubakar Musa

Ibrahim Adamu

Sadiq Abubakar

Lawal Abdullahi

Ajala David

Suleiman Jamilu

Okoro Ama

Sunday Sule

Aimato Abdulsalam

Abubakar Musa

Suleiman Kabiru

Onu Kingsley

Buba Usman

James John

Hussaini Adamu

Shamsudeen Ismail

Saidu Sani

Abdullahi Musa

Abubakar Yahaya

Edosa Aigboje

Ibrahim Umar

Chukwujekwu Okenwa

Abdullahi Usman

Ukali Emmanuel

Joseph Benard

Ewubare Gold

Abimiku Sunday

Ibrahim Mansur

Joseph Ayuba

Ayanyemi Tayo

Remember Jeremiah

Jimoh Adesina

Ukwokori Precious

Ayawei Ayibatemi

Kalu Sunday

Abdulkadir Ahmed

Osakwe Festus N

Badamashi Omokafe

Levi Pwagureno

Paul Pilate Saddam

Bello Musa

Moses Ayo

Ademu Alih

Ogobi Fredrick

Benedict Uduebor

According to the reports, soldiers attached to 15 Task Force Battalion were ambushed and dislodged after hours of intense fighting.

Sources said the troops were overwhelmed and could not withstand the superior firepower of the terrorists. The unit then tactically retreated and relocated to Dikwa, which was attacked again.

Comment With Facebook

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.