U.S clinch fourth FIFA women World Cup title

FIFA increases 2023 Women World Cup teams to 32
U.S female team
FIFA increases 2023 Women World Cup teams to 32
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The United States on Sunday claimed a record-extending fourth FIFA Women’s World Cup with a 2-0 win over European champions The Netherlands.

The victory came through goals from Megan Rapinoe and Rose Lavelle.

Rapinoe ended the deadlock on the pitch with a 61st-minute VAR-awarded penalty kick before Lavelle rounded off the victory eight minutes later with a left foot effort from just inside the penalty area.

On their part, The Netherlands battled throughout and goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal kept out the U.S. for an hour with a series of superb saves in front of 57,900 fans at Lyon’s Groupama Stadium.

But Van Veenendaal stood motionless when winger Rapinoe converted the spot kick to join team mate Alex Morgan and England’s Ellen White on six goals at the tournament.

READ  Liverpool clinch Super Cup via penalty shootout

Lavelle’s attempt also eluded the Dutch goalkeeper soon after as U.S. have now added to their 1991, 1999 and 2015 titles.

Comment With Facebook
Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

You may also like...

0 thoughts on “U.S clinch fourth FIFA women World Cup title”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.