US warns Americans against travel to 14 ‘high risk’ Nigerian states

US Mandela Washington Fellowship selects 56 Nigerians for 2021 award

The United States government has issued a red alert to its citizens in Nigeria, warning them against any travel to “high risk areas” of the country.

In a statement by the Bureau of Consular Affairs, 14 Nigerians states were listed with a “do not travel” instruction.

US government urged its citizens to reconsider travel to Nigeria “due to crime, terrorism, civil unrest, kidnapping, and maritime crime, which includes kidnappings, hijackings, boarding, theft, etc. Some areas have increased risk.

Part of the statement read; “Do Not Travel to Borno and Yobe States and Northern Adamawa State due to terrorism. Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Kaduna, Kano, and Yobe states due to kidnapping. 

“Coastal areas of Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross Rivers, Delta, and Rivers states (with the exception of Port Harcourt) due to crime, civil unrest, kidnapping, and maritime crime,” US warned its citizens.

The government added that the country might be unable to provide emergency services to its citizens in many areas of Nigeria due to security conditions.

Comment With Facebook

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.